K-8 Specialists

 
Jennell_Bandstra_750x750 copy.jpg

Katie Abbring | Edina Campus
K-8 Art | kabbring@availacademy.org

Mrs. Katie Abbring teaches K-8th grade art. She has a bachelor of arts degree from Calvin College, where she majored in art education and minored in biology. She also has an M.A. in education from Hamline University.

 

Julie Amen | Edina Campus
Challenge Program Coordinator and 8th Grade Language Arts | jamen@availacademy.org

Mrs. Julie Amen is the Challenge Program Coordinator at Avail Academy. She also teaches 8th grade language arts. Mrs. Amen holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and music (piano performance) from Concordia College-Moorhead and a master of arts in gifted education from the University of St. Thomas.

 
CaryBruin_Fridley copy.jpg

Kathleen Beekman | Edina Campus
K-5 Music and Middle School Choir | kbeekman@availacademy.org

Mrs. Beekman teaches classroom music in kindergarten through grade 5, and she directs the middle school choirs. She is a graduate of University of Northwestern-St. Paul with a B.A. in music education.

 

Amber Busacker |  Blaine, Edina and Fridley Campuses
TFT Training  |  abusacker@availacademy.org

 

Angela Byers  |  Edina Campus
Paraprofessional |  abyers@availacademy.org

 
BradLambers_Edina copy.jpg

Karen Christensson  |  Edina Campus
 Librarian |  karenc@availacademy.org

Mrs. Karen Christensson is the Librarian/Media Specialist at the Edina campus. She teaches reading appreciation and information literacy. Mrs. Christensson has a B.S. in elementary education, an M.S. in instructional media and technology, and an M.S. in nutrition and food science.

 

Amanda Goodwin  |  Edina Campuses
5-8 Spanish |  agoodwin@availacademy.org

 
Laura_Kroeze1_BLAINE_750x750 copy.jpg

Laura Kroeze  |  Blaine Campus
K-5 Music |  lkroeze@availacademy.org

Mrs. Laura Kroeze teaches K-5th grade general music at CCS. She has a B.A. in music education from Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa. She also has Level 1 Orff training from the University of Northern Iowa.

 

Amy Krumman  |  Edina Campus
Paraprofessional |  akrumman@availacademy.org

 

Amanda Kubacki Postma |  Blaine Campus
Librarian and Paraprofessional Support |  akubacki@availacademy.org

Mrs. Amanda Kubacki Postma is the librarian at the Blaine campus. She has a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa.

 

Brenda Liddle |  Edina Campus
Paraprofessional |  bliddle@availacademy.org

 
Samantha_Longley1_BLAINE_750x750.jpg

Samantha Longley |  Blaine Campus
6-8 Art |  slongley@availacademy.org

 
Susan_Lundberg1_BLAINE_750x750-Edit.jpg

Susan Lundberg |  Blaine Campus
Resource Coordinator |  slundberg@availacademy.org

Ms. Susan Lundberg is the Resource Teacher at the Blaine campus of Avail Academy. She holds a B.A. from Bethel University and an M.Ed. from the University of Minnesota.

 

Colin Pennings | Edina Campus
K-8 Physical Education and 3rd Grade | cpennings@availacademy.org

Mr. Colin Pennings teaches physical education at the Edina campus of Avail Academy. He is a recent graduate of Northwestern College in Iowa, earning an elementary education degree with teaching endorsements in coaching and reading. Along with student teaching, he brings experience as a Little League and high school baseball coach.

 
AmyPfifer-Edit.jpg

Amy Pfeifer | Blaine Campus
Paraprofessional | apfeifer@availacademy.org

 

Beth Prater | Blaine Campus
Paraprofessional | bprater@availacademy.org

 

Scott Ross | Blaine, Edina and Fridley Campuses
Technology Specialist / Geography, History and Bible | sross@availacademy.org

Mr. Scott Ross teaches 6th-8th grade geography and history and 6th grade Bible. He has a B.A. degree in secondary education and history from Dordt College. He also has a keyboarding technology certification and an M.A. in education from Hamline University.

 

Susan Schevenius | Blaine and Edina Campuses
5-8 Band | sschevenius@availacademy.org

Mrs. Susan Schevenius teaches 5th-8th grade band at the Blaine and Edina campuses. She graduated from North Dakota State University with a bachelor’s degree in music education.

 

Denise Swanson | Blaine Campus
K-8 Physical Education | dswanson@availacademy.org

Mrs. Denise Swanson teaches K-8th grade physical education at the Avail Academy Blaine campus. She has a bachelor’s degree from Bethel University in St. Paul, Minnesota.

 

Amy Teunissen | Edina Campus
Resource Coordinator and 6th and 7th Grade Language Arts | ateunissen@availacademy.org

Ms. Amy Teunissen is the Resource Program Director at the Edina campus. After attending Calvin Christian School herself as a student, she received a B.A. from Dordt College, as well as an M.A. from Minnesota State University Mankato.

 

Susan Van Geest | Blaine and Fridley Campuses
K-5 Art | svangeest@availacademy.org

Mrs. Susan VanGeest teaches art at the Avail Academy High School and to students in grades K-5 at the Blaine campus. She has bachelor’s degrees in art from Northwestern College (Iowa) and the University of London, and an MFA from the University of South Dakota.

 

Emily Wirth | Blaine and Fridley Campuses
6-12 Choir and 9-12 Band | ewirth@availacademy.org